PuppyKilla introduces… DJ D3VIL

I thought it was about time I started looking a little further afield…  Although I’m definitely a big supporter of the UK scene, there are some brilliant acts to be found abroad too.  This guy was on my Facebook friends list, I don’t remember how he got there, but I’m glad that he did!  Hailing form the US of A we have DJ D3VIL..!

Name : Jonathan Jones

Age: 22

Location: Los Angeles, California

How did you get into music?

‘Well, I’ve always been a creative person but I never imagined myself becoming as fully immersed in music production and sound design as I am today.  Music has always been apart of my life.  I remember the earliest music I grew up on was late 80’s music; Bobby Brown and other “New Jack Swing” artists.  That later progressed to the 90’s.  It was all about Westcoast Hip-Hop back then.’

‘When I was around 15, one of my Asian friends sold me a mix CD of some Techno & Trance artists he got from Napster.  I started listening to those genres “heavily” around the same time one of my best friends let me borrow his new “Ps2 music based videogame called [Frequency]“‘

‘Yeah….. that’s where it really started.  Frequency was created by the same company that created “Guitar Hero” and “Rock Band”.  It was an early Online Social Dj/Remix & Production video game based on activating notes on a specific track (Drum, Bass, Synth, Vocal, Guitar, FX, etc..).  The game taught me how to produce different genres & basic song structure.  People always ask me the origin of my name… and its funny because my name comes from that game too!  I had to create an online identity and logo in the game and happened to stumble upon a logo that looked like an animated devil, so I tweaked it a little and signed on as “DJ D3VIL”…..it just Stuck..  I still keep that name today honouring where my music career all started.’

‘I originally went to college for graphic design but I stared to feel more and more creatively “caged in” everyday I went to class.  After about a year and a half of aimlessly following the “normal” high-school to college routine a voice just hit me: “this cant be right!?……right?”.  I needed a proper creative outlet and I wanted my art to touch the masses.  So I said to myself; “I can go the music route, but if I do, there’s no turning back..” I had to go all the way.  By then I had progressed from making music on a video game to real hard & software through internships, various label jobs, recording studios and eventually building my own small home recording studio producing Dubstep and Electro house.  Yeah, I its defiantly been a progression through the years.’

Who influences you?

‘Right now, I get a lot of my influence from artist like Deadmau5, Benga, Rusko, Wolfgang Gartner, Kanye West, Datsik, Crispy, Caspa, Skream, Feelix, Felguk, 16 Bit, there are so many more…  I think I’m the only one that can actually listen to any genre of music without bias.  So, I guess that gives me the upper hand because I take ideas & techniques from different genres and “mix it up”.  Its all the same to me.’

Which of the tracks you have made is your personal favourite?

I’d probably have to say “Pray to the Gods” for one.  It’s kinda tech – trance but I love the progressiveness on that track, and it really Thumps at a club.  And Two; “Killahstep” I Love the wave shaping I did with this one.  It kinda gives you a taste of the control I have over sound waves in that track.  I’m really feeling that type of stuff too.’

DJ D3VIL – Pray to the Gods

DJ D3VIL – Killahstep

 

This next one is probably my favourite of his tracks.  It’s very dark with a deep bassline.  D3VIL’s production is top-notch on all of his tunes, I’m very much looking forward to hearing more…

Lastly we have ‘They call it…’.  I like the overall construction of this track and the sound bytes he uses are pretty cool.  Big respect to DJ D3VIL for the interview, I’ll post any new stuff he puts out on the website as soon as I get my hands on it.  Until then, be sure to show him your support!

I’ve got a long list of social media profiles and other stuff that he sent me…  You ready..?

Soundcloud; http://soundcloud.com/jonathandavidjonesii

Youtube; http://www.youtube.com/user/djdevil0000

Last FM; http://www.last.fm/music/DJ+D3VIL

Twitter; http://twitter.com/#!/DJD3VILMUSIC/

Facebook; http://www.facebook.com/pages/DJ-D3VIL/186365652196

Verizon Media Store;
http://mediastore.verizonwireless.com/onlineContentStore/index.html#selectedMedia=ALLMEDIA&searchTerm=dj%20d3vil

Peace.

Leave a comment

Filed under Introducing..., Music

Leave a Reply

